On September 26, 2022; the 1855 Lambert Farmhouse at 1215 McCormick Rd. was inspected by Mr. Eric Fairchild, founder of Friends of the Farm and potential bidder to relocate the structure, Mr. Joe Botchie, Registered Architect (RA, NCARB) and Chairman of the Upper Allen Township Historic Architecture Review Board (HARB) and Mr. David Morrison, Executive Director of Historic Harrisburg Association. Ms. Nancy Van Dolsen, a noted historian, educator and author of two books on Cumberland County, Pennsylvania architecture was nearby to provide additional support.
Mr. Botchie had the following observations:
1. Structurally the home is very sound. The contemporary additions could be removed without destroying the integrity of the original 1855 structure.
2. Relocating the original structure is possible, albeit the lower level would be lost. Also, interior plaster walls and exterior masonry walls and chimneys may be subject to cracking during moving.
3. Although a lot of the interior has been remodeled and historic features lost over the years, some historic features remain such as the wood door and window trim, main beams and summer beam joists.
4. Exterior brickwork is an English pattern with five stretcher rows between the tieback header row and is in very good shape.
5. The “sawtooth” brick frieze on the East exterior side is quite unique to this period house. The West side may also contain this same brickwork under the upper porch roof addition.
6. The wide front door to the original parlor along with the smaller side door with the paneled jambs and stone lintels are also original to the home and a nice historic feature.
Apologies for not taking more encompassing photos. We were looking more for historic details and how the home was constructed vs. how one might inspect a modern home. Additional photos of the interior, rooms, etc. can be found in the earlier TKS Architects evaluation of the Farmhouse and Barn.